For my brothers

My brother Sam, three years my junior, loved knights. He read books, dressed in halloween customes, and led Playmobile into fierce battle. He had a real sword, rarely out of its sheath, but always a great excitement.
We must have watched Kid in the King’s Court, a movie about King Author, at least 20 times together.

My 10-year-old brother, Grayson, is equally entranced by knights. I am always amazed by his complex battle scenes and ability to entertain himself for hours. A while back i bugged him about it. It’s so violent, why do you like this?

It’s fun, he told me. It’s not real.

These pictures are especially for you two.

The first castle we visited was Krak Des Chevaliers in Homs, built in the 12th century by crusaders. As power changed hand others gained control, evident by the architecture. Found inside are a church and a mosque.

View of Krak Des Chevaliers

View of Krak Des Chevaliers

Carlene listens to our guide, Osama, talk about the church

Carlene listens to our guide, Osama, talk about the church

 

Part of my group takes in the view a top the castle

Part of my group takes in the view a top the castle

The moat--filled with sparkly blue water and lime green algea

The moat--filled with sparkly blue water and lime green algea

A flock of sheep--view from the Crak

A flock of sheep--view from the Crak

The Syria’s landscape surprised me. Crak was surrounded by green rolling hills, flowers, trees and not much else.

 

Aleppo castle

Aleppo castle

Aleppo is the second biggest city in Damascus and far more conservative
Aleppo is the second biggest city in Damascus and far more conservative
3 thoughts on “For my brothers

  1. Hey Lily.

    This is very cool- thanks for posting. I hope all is well with you- shoot me an email when you get a chance. I’ll make sure Gray sees this.

    Oh, by the way- we watched Kid in the King’s Court far more than twenty times!

    -Sam.

Leave a Reply

